Generation Black TV - Live

--- Main Blog Content Below ---

Any conversation about Hip-Hop in Nigeria and Africa at large can not hold water without putting M.I Abaga in the mix. In fact, he has been a solid pillar and one of the propellers of African hip-hop for the last two decades till date (2007 – 2022).

Widely heralded as one of Africa’s most commercially successfully rappers, M.l. Abaga first tasted mainstream success in 2008 with his debut, Talk About It. The album was a watershed moment for Nigeria’s hip-hop community, laying out the much-needed blueprint for commercial success selling rap in the country.

Born Jude Abaga in Jos, Plateau state, he experimented with music in high school in Nigeria, and later while earning a business degree from Calvin College in Michigan. While attending college in the U.S., he became heavily influenced by American rappers like Jay-Z and DMX; crafting the early parts of his trademark punchline-heavy musical style.

After dishing out the lead single off the album ‘The Guy‘ some weeks back, M.I Abaga is back and ready to unlock the complete package as he unveils the official tracklist of the album also titled ‘The Guy.’ The album will consist of 12 tracks and entertains guest appearances by Duncan Mighty, Wande Coal, Olamide, Phyno, Ice Prince, Jesse Jagz, BNXN, The Cavemen, Chillz, Lord Vino, Tomi Owo, Ossi Grace, and American veteran rapper, Nas.

On unveiling the tracklist for the forthcoming album, M.I Abaga took to his Twitter account to post the official cover art and tracklist with the caption, “on Friday, we feast. #theguyalbum,” officially announcing that the album will finally arrive on Friday, 19th of August.

You may also like

Comments are closed.